All Natural Beauty Products Perfect for Dancers!!

By Jadée Nikita

This year, one of my new year’s resolution’s was to slowly replace all my beauty products with organic substitutes.  At first I was skeptical about the “all natural” hype, but on my quest, I’ve came across a lot of products that’ve shown visible results.  I started by replacing my shampoos, conditioners, soaps, face washes, lotions, and hair products.  Below are my top 3 favorite all natural products that I use on a consistent basis:

shea moisture mask

3.  Shea Moisture Raw Shea Butter Deep Treatment Masque – $10.49 (12oz)

Established in 1912, Shea Moisture is the matriarch of all natural, shea butter beauty products.  This particular deep treatment masque is great for girls with thick, curly, dry and/or damaged hair.  Also made with sea kelp and argan oil, it contains NO: sulfates, parabens, phthalates, paraffin, gluten, propylene glycol, mineral oil, synthetic fragrance, PABA, synthetic color, DEA, and animal ingredients.  Pretty much everything I am trying to avoid.  I thought BINGO!  I have no problem spending a few extra coins for an organic beauty product that leaves my hair feeling silky smooth, the natural way!  To add an extra boost of moisture and shine, I seal in the masque with a mixture of extra virgin olive oil and almond oil, put on a plastic cap, and apply moderate heat for about 30 minutes.  I am in love with the entire Shea Moisture line!

The Deets: 

  • Sea kelp is full of mineral-rich nutrition that seals and smooths hair cuticles.
  • Argan oil  restores shine while helping promote hair elasticity.
  • Shea butter deeply moisturizes while conditioning the hair and scalp.

black soap

2.  African Black Soap – $8 (for a lot!)

Made in West Africa, this all natural soap is made from palm oil, palm kernel oil, and water.  The aroma and deep rich color result from centuries old extraction process that blends the two main ingredients together, resulting in a fine skin cleanser.  I’ve used this product for about 2 weeks now, and the first thing I noticed was how it doesn’t leave my skin feeling dry, post-shower, like most commercial soaps.  The best part is there are only 3 ingredients – that I can pronounce!  Wanna know how much I paid for it?  5 bucks on the streets of NY for a brick-sized slab of authentic black soap!  I love a good deal 🙂

The Deets:

  • Relieves acne and removes blemishes
  • Prevents rashes, itching, dry and scaly skin from developing
  • Cleans pores and rejuvenates the skin leaving your body fresh and clean

ros

1.  Ro’s Argan – $32.95 (7.9oz)

Wake up and smell the roses with this bombshell beauty product!  Made by Lush Cosmetics, this product smells like what I imagine the garden of Eden would exude.  It’s packed full of exotic ingredients to feed and nourish the skin like argan oil, cocoa butter, cupuacu butter, almond oil, and 1000 rose petals that go into every 7.9oz jar!  Which I can believe, because the rose smell if definitely there but not in an overpowering way.  It’s strong yet subtle, sweet but sexy, and the scent never goes unrecognized.  The next time you want to leave a sweet impression, smooth this on your skin after washing, rinse off, and pat dry!  To get that garden smell all day long, swap it for lotion.

Although this is my #1 beauty product by a long shot, it does have its flaws.  It’s not 100% organic and contains some “safe synthetics” like cetearyl alcohol, methylparaben, and fragrance.  These products don’t do any harm but for my Fly Gyal’s who are looking for 100% all natural beauty products this one  might not be for you.

The Deets:

  • Can replace the need to moisturize after bathing
  • Nourishing butters leave skin feeling buttery soft
  • Smells too good not to splurge!

*Everyone’s skin sensitivity level is different.  Please consult with your dermatologist and/or physician before making changes to your beauty regiment.  

If you thought this article deserved a round of applause, please share with your Gyal Pals!  Then head on over to our online dance boutique and shop the latest dance trends!

Cover photo via BlissTree
Leave a Reply

